Dusting with vodka!

As the spring cleaning marathon continues (ahead of the arrival of little M’s Gran and Gramps from the UK) I have found yet another use around the home for Vodka (other than drinking it obviously, and cleaning windows with it).  Hunting around for a recipe for homemade furniture polish I came across this post for homemade dusting spray. The blogger helpfully provides a simple recipe and a more complex one. I went for something in between as I had many of the ingredients but not all of them.

My dusting spray has the following ingredients:

¾ cup water
1 tablespoon of olive oil
2 tablespoons of vodka
2 tablespoons white vinegar
1 tablespoon of liquid glycerin
30-40 drops of clove essential oil

You can use whatever essential oil takes your fancy but I went for clove because I like the smell and it’s also really good at discouraging the buildup of mould and mildew. The glycerin is also optional but I happened to have it in the cupboard for one of my future beauty product creations and apparently it improves the spray’s buffing ability.  I poured it all into a spray bottle and gave it a good shake to emulsify it.

So off I went, dusting away while little M stared, zombie-like, at the latest episode of The Wiggles and I have to say it works really rather well!  It makes everything clean and shiny, leaves no greasy residue and smells awesome. Looks like I have made my very own polish to rival Mr Sheen!

vintagecooknclean

One response to “Dusting with vodka!

  1. Pingback: Natural oven cleaning | A few less chemicals in the bubble·

Leave a Reply

