The ‘no poo’ method – not for me

Well, I gave it a good crack. No-one can say I didn’t. It’s been 2 and a half months since I washed my hair with shampoo. That’s right, 10 WEEKS of heavy, flat, dull hair. Do I qualify for an award or something?

At times it felt ok, I was washing with baking soda every 4 days and dry shampooing with cocoa powder most other days. It was freeing to not have to be shampooing constantly. But my hair never really felt clean.

My problem was that approximately 6 weeks ago my hair seemed to plateau. In the first few weeks of the experiment my hair became greasy and lank, which was what I expected. Then, to my excitement, things started to get better. I could go longer between baking soda washing and my hair felt much lighter and less greasy. I could see the light at the end of the tunnel. My dreams of shiny, thick, manageable hair, that I would only need to rinse once every 5 days, flashed back into my mind and teased and tickled me.

But that was as good as it got. No shine, no lightness, no manageability. Just a lot less baking soda in my kitchen cupboard and a faint smell of cocoa powder surrounding my head.

I was defeated. Over it. Yesterday I purchased a bottle of my favourite shampoo and right now I am sitting on the train with fabulous, clean, shiny hair. I’m sorry shampoo. I was wrong. Please forgive me. While many people may be able to leave you behind, we were obviously meant to be together forever. I love you shampoo.

20140130-080833.jpg

2 responses to “The ‘no poo’ method – not for me

Leave a comment